Na-Na-Na-Na, Hey-Hey-Hey, Goodbye

Wow!  I cannot believe the day has come to say goodbye to my WIU alumni readers.  Earlier this morning, I took my very last final exam ever, and now I am writing my very last blog for all of you.  This semester has been great; I couldn’t have asked for a better way to end my undergraduate career.  But, before I say my final goodbye, I have a few more items I would like to share with you.

First, I would like to thank everyone who made this internship possible.  This has been such a great experience; this internship with Alumni Programs  has helped me get a taste of the real world. It has cemented my desire for my future.  I love writing! Even though I’ve been writing constantly during the past five days due to final papers and finals, I still love it!  I love being able to put myself into a story while interacting with others and writing these blogs allowed me to do that.  I was able to explore so much about WIU while working to improve myself.

Next, I need to give a big shout-out to my supervisor, Amanda Shoemaker.  She handles so many different tasks during the week and yet still managed to answer all of my questions (trust me there were quite a few!). She was great at responding to every single one of my emails, all while performing her everyday tasks.  She was the one who edited all of my blogs prior to posting and helped me improve my writing.  I will admit, I am not the best editor (yet), but after meeting with her on a weekly basis throughout the semester, I am leaving Western with improved writing and editing skills because of her.

I would also like to thank all of the administrators, staff, faculty and students who helped with my blogs.  In order to write about a subject, you need to have an expert’s input, and, you won’t hear me say this often, but it is true… I don’t know everything.  It was great to get to meet and interview many different people on campus who helped me better understand certain topics in order to share it with all of you.  Everyone who helped in my research of the various topics welcomed me right away.  With that in mind, I believe I improved my interviewing skills throughout the semester.  I mean it when I say I took a lot from this internship, and am extremely grateful for it!

What made this semester and experience even more remarkable was the amazing Alumni Programs staff.  From the first day I stepped through the Alumni House door, I was greeted with smiling faces and warm hearts.  I instantly felt welcomed and it was such a great environment to be in throughout my internship.  I am so thankful I got to meet and work alongside these great women.  I will definitely miss  my talks with Bev about the weather, and Kim’s smiling face as she would stroll past my work station.  All of these ladies are wonderful and I will miss each and every one of them.

Now, to all my WIU alumni readers, thank you for your support by following my posts.  We wouldn’t have such a great Alumni Association if it weren’t for all of you wonderful people.  And for the umpteenth time, I cannot wait to join all of you in becoming an alumnus and sharing my purple pride well after graduation.  I have met and spoken with many of you, and from that, I took away something so powerful; there is so much pride in this great university.  So many of you, along with faculty and staff, all have one thing in common…you’re all crazy in love with Western.  Each week throughout the semester, the WIU pride within me grew stronger, and I know for a fact it will continue to grow.  As I mentally and physically prepare for commencement on Saturday, I also have been preparing for my future.  I am looking to get a job with a newspaper or magazine, so if any of you have any contacts… don’t hesitate to shoot me an email at al_fogarty@yahoo.com! I would love the opportunity to network with alumni, particularly those in the journalism field.

Again, this has been such a great experience and I am so honored to have been given the opportunity to write for all of you.  I truly am going to miss attending this University, but all good things must come to an end.  I can’t wait to meet, visit and network with you at future WIU Alumni & Friends Events.  Thank you everyone who has helped me along this journey.  I am proud of my purple blood, and will always be a Leatherneck.  Farewell WIU!Picture0007

Leave a Reply

